Scholarships and Awards

MBLN sponsors an award for incoming and current Library and Information Science students. MBLN Book Award are due each year on February 15. The Massachusetts Black Librarians Network Scholarship fund has been established to provide financial assistance to students entering a Master’s program in Library and Information Science accredited by the American Library Association (ALA). Contact us for more information:

P.O.Box 14
Dorchester, MA 02121


  • Applicant must be a citizen of the United States of African American descent
  • An application must be downloaded for the scholarship and/or book award and submitted
  • Official transcripts from all post secondary institutions attended
  • Submit two letters of recommendations

Book Award recipient is announced in March.

History of the Scholarship

The Network awarded its first scholarship in 1985. In 1995, the scholarship was renamed after June Mullins (1929-1994), a long time activist and a Network member. June was born in New York City and spent her early childhood in Cambridge, Massachusetts. After a brief career in the U.S. Navy, she attended Howard University’s School Dental Hygiene from 1953-1954, followed by Virginia State College from 1956-7.  June received a Bachelor of Arts from Northeastern University in 1980 and a Master of Science in Library and Information Science from Simmons College in 1985.

June’s professional career as a librarian included positions at Lassell Junior College, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy, and the MIT Laboratory for Computer Science, before going to Tufts University.

June retired from Tufts University in 1994, where she had served as Assistant Reference Librarian at the Wessell Library.


Jason_Smith1Congratulations to Jason Smith, the 2014 MBLN Scholarship Winner. Jason is a student at Simmons Graduate School of Library and Information Science. He’s well on his way to a successful librarian career having acquired internships at Bain Capital and Mass College of Pharmacy.


Scholarship Recipients

Year Recipient
2015-2016 Sony Prosper (Book Scholarship)
Ayoola White and Gabrielle Womack (Academic Support Awards)
2014-2015 Not Given
2013-2014 Jason Smith (Book Scholarship)
2012-2013 Ashleigh Coren (Book Scholarship)
2011-2012 S. Hannah Gomez (Book Scholarship)
2010-2011 Not Given
2009-2010 Miranda Rivers and Derek Mosley (Book Award)
2009-2010 Stacie Williams (Book Scholarship)
2008-2009 Not Given
2007-2008 Steven Booth (Book Scholarship)
2006-2007 Akunna Eneh (Book Scholarship)
2005-2006 Tonya Johnson and Amber Moore (Book Scholarship)
2004-2005 Khalilah Gambrell (Book Award)
2003-2004 Michele Rayah Levy (Book Award)
2002-2003 Not Given
2001-2002 Andrea Plaid
2000-2001 Theresa Leatham
1999-2000 Verdaya Mitchell-Brown
1998-1999 Brigitte Spencer
Paula Mann
1996-1997 Debbie Stephens
LaVentura L. Ellis
1995-1996 Olga Francois
Caryn Bush
1994-1995 Desiree Goodwin
1993-1994 Henrietta Green
1992-1993 Kelly Richards
1988-1989 Katie Fulton
1987-1988 Andrea Chaney
Jessica Mathewson
1985-1986 Joanne Richardson

Other scholarships and awards